This Microsoft app will not share your personal data with any third-party service but it may send it to the third-party service
Did you know that there are several apps installed by default in Outlook Web App that run in the background and can potentially send your personal data to a third-party service? What’s interesting is that on the same page each app has these two conflicting statements.
- This app will not share your date with any third-party service.
You read the first statement and then move on. Why? Because you know your personal data is secure and you don’t have to worry about anything. But wait! Did you read the second statement in the same section?
- This app may send this data to a third-party service.
The second statement makes it clear that the app will be able to read or modify the contents of any item in your mailbox, and create new items. It will be able to access personal information, — such as the body, subject, sender, recipients, or attachments — in any message or calendar item. And yes, any of this personal content may be sent to a third-party service.
All the apps that you see in the screenshot below, Bing Maps, My Templates, etc. have similar message. They all say that the app won’t share your data with any third-party service and at the same time it states that it will share your data. If you are not comfortable with this type of privacy risk, you can disable these apps.
For more fun messages like this, check out Interesting Errors, Bugs, and Messages.